Daily Archives: June 27, 2015

Tina Minkowitz does it again

This is one hell of an amazing article:

Decision-Making and Moral Injury

Prayer at 3am

Dear God,

I am an escapee from USA living below the equator
As many do
I know you do not exist and so, I feel stupid praying like this

But right now, I picked up my glass-lined coffee pot
The one I bought right away after moving to this beautiful country.
This pot slipped out of my hand
Because I was tired
And broke.

Dear God,
You promise so, so many things.
Or shall I say, people claiming to represent your Word, or rather, to speak for you, make so many damn promises. None came true. The Nortamericano dream is bullshit, as we all know. Better to laugh than to cry. I don’t think hard work nor karma nor recovery nor studying hard nor achieving inner peace nor yoga nor knowledge nor being saved by Jesus nor God nor anyone paid off. I’m standing here at 3am with no money and a my best coffee pot broken.

But know something? It’s a thing. Nothing more. I came here with almost nothing. What’s stuff?  It’s stuff. Crap that eventually falls apart and no amount of love will keep it around forever. I’ve learned to part with almost all of it. My coffee pot lived with me one year and I had a funeral for it. It went into a bag and in a few hours will go into the trash. Such is the life of stuff.

You learn these things. Stuff lives, stuff dies, and that happens faster than the seasons. Catch them while you can, they’ll only be on the shelves for so long.

In a flash, a thing flew out of my hand. I thought that a life can end in a flash, just like that. A person, adult or child, anywhere on this planet, right now, someone somebody loves, has stopped breathing, and that’s a tragedy.