Ripping out

I am referring to the busy-looking red sweater knit with ribbon.  I unraveled it.  Entirely.  Gave up on the project.  Why?  It made me nervous just looking at it.  Too bright.  I think the ribbon needs to be knitted with black, not bright red or even dull wine, which I switched to once I realized the bright red wasn’t panning out.  Furthermore, the consistency of the fabric it created wasn’t right.  The wool itself was soft and the ribbon only softened it more, so the project curled up at the edges.  There were things I could have done to prevent curling but–it’s done with, anyway.

When a patient is “put” in a quiet room, he or she is asked to calm down.  A considerate staff person will provide the means to calm down or at least have suggestions for the patient, and will allow the patient to engage in calming activities.  If a patient wants to scream, he or she can scream into a pillow so as not to disturb the other patients.  Some people like to hold on to ice.  But the activity that has facinated me the most and that I have never tried is to rip up an old telephone book.  It is claimed to be extremely effective!

Would ripping out an old sweater do as well?  Probably.  One can appreciate all the hours of hard work the knitter (or factory worker) spent putting the sweater together, and now, it’s gone in an instant and all that is left is a pile of yarn.

I chose to salvage the yarn.  That was painstaking work.  Don’t do that when you’re angry.  Remember, the sweater was double-stranded.  That meant I had to work with two balls of yarn at once.  I needed four hands.

What now?  I’m thinking of using the ribbon with black.  I’ve got some black yarn.  But I think I won’t make it in the rectangle style this time.  Later.

Posted on June 3, 2008, in Ramblings and Blog Essays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments are welcome!