Daily Archives: October 12, 2015

And they said I was crazy…..

I lay down, trying to take a nap. I heard all sorts of yucky “music” playing somewhere out there. That got me annoyed, so I tried to focus on Puzzle’s breathing instead. I had my arm around her and she was sacked out, as dogs usually are. I buried my face in her fur.That felt awesome. Up, down, up, down. That ole chest of hers.

Then I heard the slamming of a door. A banging sound. Screams. Oh gee, what now next door? Yelling, more and more yelling and carrying on. I wish that wasn’t happening. Then, a motorcycle driving in. Or driving out, hard to tell. Maybe both. More insane yelling. This going on for over a half hour.

I told myself, “If this person’s going to yell at the kids like that, she can drop the kids off here. Abuela Julie will take good care of them and not yell at them.”

When have I yelled at anyone? Not at all. Have I slammed down a phone? No. Have I hit anyone? No. Have I acted drunk and disorderly? No. Have I repeatedly called anyone or been a nag? No. Have I gone days on end without showering? No. Do I keep 50 cats here that pee all over the place? No. Have I driven dangerously? No. Have I stripped naked in public? No. Do I ever use a suicide threat to get what I want? No, I don’t ever threaten suicide. Do I have explosives in my knapsack? No, and I sure hope my knapsack doesn’t explode, since I paid good money for it.  Do I own weapons? Yes, kitchen knives.  I’d better, because I gotta cut up food for Puzzle, and for me, too.  What were those docs back in USA complaining about, anyway? They called me crazy, danger to self, danger to others, and yet…..I see no evidence of that whatsoever.

So I lay there laughing to myself. Puzzle’s breathing quickened, and I knew she was dreaming. She made those cute yipping sounds she makes in her sleep. That lasted maybe ten seconds.  Then, back to her usual sacked-out state. Ah, bliss.

If anyone out there says, “But….” claiming some mental disorder, I mean, really. Prove it. What disorder? Most folks out there are much more nutso than I am. More power to them. It’s a crazy world out there, go live your life and enjoy it.

Today is Dia de Recarga, did you know that?

Recarga means recharge. Today is the day! Recharge all your devices, even the ones you don’t use much. Get those batteries juiced up! When you are done, don’t forget to take the charger out of the outlet. Leave some electricity for me and Puzzle!

Today is the day to recharge. Get those cobwebs out of your ears. Go listen to joyful music, or listen to your buddies singing. Today is the day to tell everyone in your life that you love them.  Recharge your relationships. Give your dog a hug.

Today is the day to jumpstart your day. Did you eat breakfast? Go eat something yummy.

Today is the day to be blessed. Do you not feel blessed? Here’s how to fix that real fast. Put freshly ground pepper on that breakfast of yours. Now, when you sneeze, someone will say “Bless you.” There, you’re blessed now!

Take all those blessings and sprinkle them everywhere you go today. Like that pepper that you sprinkled on your breakfast. Make someone smile. Watch out, it might be contagious.

Can you kick yourself in the butt? I don’t think most of us can. Give yourself a boost today instead. Sweep the floor, match up unmatched socks, go find the caps to uncapped jars. Leave no stone unturned, but please, don’t turn the tomatoes.

It’s not nice to fool Mother Nature, so don’t fool yourself, either. Have you listened to your body today? No, not your doctor, your body.

If you are a slavedriver, free your slaves. If you are a slave, run away fast! Open all locked doors, you’ll be surprised at the wonders you see inside. Live today, El Dia de Recarga, as if it is the only one you have. In fact, it is.