Daily Archives: October 14, 2015

What happened to me as a result of seeing therapists.

Before and After

Before I went to therapy, I had a very healthy self-esteem. As a result of therapy, my self-esteem plummeted.

Before therapy, I had no trouble making and keeping friends. I even had to say “no” to people and I had many to choose from. As a result of therapy, I have a lot of trouble making and keeping friends.

Before therapy I never thought of myself as “worthless.” If anyone asked, I’d answer, “Why would anyone feel that way?” Therapists and doctors told me again and again that I was worthless and incapable. That took a toll on me.

Before therapy, I never thought in black and white. I never thought in terms of “us and them.” Since shrinks and other personnel were routinely abusive and authoritarian, I ended up thinking they were smarter and better.

Before therapy, I never had reason to be concerned about “reputation.” When I spoke out against the institutions, they did everything they could to discredit me.

Before therapy, I never felt I had to prove myself or get on the defensive. My word was just as credible as anyone else’s. Now, whenever I say anything I have to back it up with “proof.” My word is no longer considered credible until I do. My personal experience gets invalidated more often than not.

Before therapy, I had a relationship with my family. My family stopped speaking to me after a therapist advised them to do so, about 20 years ago.

Before therapy, I had no money problems. I had no debts. I had the same struggle trying to find work as anyone else did. I am now in so much debt that money is a constant struggle. I have yet to see an earned income.

Can anyone blame me for advising others to stay away from shrinks and to avoid those that give out psych diagnoses? I try every day to get my life back. I try to get my family back. I try to get employed. I try to find out who I am after all these years, and I want so much to have meaningful life. I want meaningful relationships and real conversation. It’s so much of a struggle trying to twist people’s arms just for companionship. What can I do? Offer people money? Bribe them? I have nothing left to bribe them with.