Daily Archives: October 19, 2015

Update

Check out this update to mu fundraiser:

https://www.youcaring.com/julie-greene-433556/update/382177

Thanks.

AVG vs Avast

I had AVG for years. One day, it quit on me, so I tried Avast. I used both in the free version. Here’s what I think:

Avast has more options. There are multiple types of scans you can do. However, there are too many options! I want simplicity, scan and be done. Both Avast and AVG have a full scan options. With Avast, you can do more fine-tuning. With both, you can scan a single file or folder, or a removable drive. I’d advise this if you download a program setup file and you’re unsure if it has added adware.

I finally got rid of Avast because I couldn’t figure out how to pause a scan. Plus, to stop a scan, you have to open the entire interface as far as I could tell. With AVG, both pausing and stopping are possible from the tray icon. Right-clicking gives you a bunch of options.

I found that Avast slowed down my computer. Also, I had to schedule the scan when I was sure I would not be in a VoIp conversation. Every time the scan started, I got cut off.

I would say the main reason I disliked Avast was the interface appearance. I found that it was all so complex, with so many options I don’t even need, that I couldn’t find something when I wanted it. But the #1 reason was that the interface was white with baby-blue letters. I can’t see the letters. I tried doing all sorts of things to make the letters visible, including trying to change my screen contrast. Still, those letters weren’t dark enough for me to see. I think Avast should offer an alternate skin. I love AVG’s skin, since it’s black with brightly-colored letters. I can see that just fine!

It was a bit tough trying to reinstall AVG Free. While I had no internet, the setup file took over an hour to download, and then I found out that it hadn’t properly downloaded after all that. Today I was able to download the file in about a second. However, I needed to uninstall the incomplete downloaded version I’d already tried to install. I figured that out. On the third try, I got it right.

It might be me, but Avast used up my entire CPU.  I have no clue why that happened but the computer kept revving periodically. I never had that problem with AVG. Also, I had trouble getting to some websites. I have no clue why that happened but I’ll bet with AVG, I won’t have that problem anymore. I was rather frustrated for a few days while phone calls cut off and nothing seemed working right. I hope this time, AVG won’t get weird on me. Avast has a terrific Android App called Avast Cleanup which I still use. I think it’s tons better than Greenify.

PS: AVG just spotted a minor virus and got rid of it. Avast did the same when I first installed it. Appreciated. They both work fine.

Ask not, “What’s wrong with me?” but “What’s terrific about me?”

And please, the answer isn’t “Nothing.”

So, on that note, I must be doing something right. The guy at one of the local health food stores told me that spirulina is wicked good for runners. I didn’t even realize just how good. When I read the sleep apnea book a while back, seaweed was recommended for thyroid. As you all’s know, Lithium destroyed my thyroid a while back. I’ve been on Synthroid for 30 years now. I’m still taking it rather faithfully since I know what happens to a person if their thyroid is screwed up. If you don’t take it, your neck is gonna swell up because your thyroid is trying to make the various things it makes, and can’t. Your hair will fall out, you might gain weight, you’ll be freezing cold, and tired all the time. Do I want that? No.

When my thyroid was pronounced dead, which, in fact, I recall well, I was told, “It’s from the Lithium, but it’s nothing.” No, it’s not “nothing.” In fact, your thyroid interacts with a few other glands to keep your body working. I’m thinking the adrenals and the pituitary.  Guess what happens if your adrenals are messed up? You don’t sleep. Nowadays, so many people are talking about “adrenal fatigue” that it’s become a trendy hobby or pastime. “Ah, dear, how are our adrenals doing today? Shall we continue this discussion in the bedroom?”

So I really don’t think about adrenal fatigue much. Why? I have enough of my fatigue already, why worry about those guys that I can’t see? They sit on top of my kidneys and don’t hurt a bit. In fact, given that I have miniature kidneys (from taking Lithium) you bet the adrenals are probably towering over the itty bitty little brothers underneath. Or did they shrink, too? What did I need all that shrinkage for? I’m short enough already.

Therefore, if you are short like me, don’t see a shrink, since I think it would be overkill.

Meanwhile, I’ve been taking spirulina. Today, after a few weeks of that very very very green stuff, I had the urge to go out running. I didn’t even think about it much, just enough to remember my Fitbit. You know, the little thing I brought here from the States that’s like a super-duper pedometer. I have yet to lose if or launder it.

Today I got Lost in Space out there, right to the Outer Limits.  I wasn’t even thinking and suddenly I was nearly to Parque del Plata. I kept trying to nag myself to at least turn left so I won’t go so far I can’t get back without my pal the taxi driver. But nagging never works, does it? Ask the wife of a gutter alcoholic.

I think the gutter alcoholic, if he knew how awesome runner’s high is, would ditch the alcohol on the spot. Anyone on psych meds, if they’re still alive, would ditch them, too.  Sometime after I made the turn, I think I lost most of myself. I was flying. I didn’t even have my broomstick with me. Look ma, no hands! No legs! No brain! No body! Raised from the dead! I kept going. I told myself I’ll probably run out of energy.

I didn’t. I had been debating how to cross the Interbalnearia. I thought it was rush hour but traffic wasn’t bad at all. Still, I didn’t want to run in place waiting for my chance to cross. I used the footbridge. I heard that footbridge cost a fortune to build. It’s all ramp, all the way across. The one in Salinas isn’t done as elaborately. It has stairs with an adjacent ramp to roll something if you need to. I don’t think I want to be a baby in a baby carriage tilted like that. Do people strap their babies in, put helmets and war gear on them, then say Rosaries a million times before crossing? I doubt anyone could push a motorcycle up that ramp, but a bike, probably.

However, this bridge I crossed, while steep, is actually runnable. I figured I’d be struggling to get up the thing, since it turns 180 degrees like four times and is steep. Nope. I flew right up it. That’s because a guy at the panaderia lent me a broomstick and I left it off at Estación Ancap, and kept going.

I’ve been promising myself I’ll figure out how to get through the clover leaf on a trike. I think the way to do it is just how I ran today. Piece of cake. No, I didn’t have cake, but I ate it, too.

I got home soon after. Oddly, I still wasn’t tired. Around Collegio Pinares I sped up, in fact. I told myself my usual lie: I’m at Copley Square, just rounding the corner, about to finish the Boston Marathon. The crowds are cheering all around me. Later, I’ll go home with a foil poncho draped on me, and I’ll still have my bib pinned on me (that’s the thing with the number on it). Naw, I need more fun. A wreath of roses.

I got something better. Los dos hermanos, who had said goodbye to me around the end of my street, came bounding up to me. Those guys are Puzzle’s pals and I love them both. After knowing them now a while, I wondered if I’d ever be able to tell them apart. Today was the first time ever I noticed a difference between the two. While running. They jumped on me to greet me. Good thing I’m bigger (believe it or not). I laughed all the way home. They tagged along, and hung around outside waiting for Puzzle. They hung around last night waiting for Puzzle’s dinner, but I know not to feed them or they’ll be permanently here. Besides, Puzzle’s pork dinner was yummy and even smelled good to me. I don’t happen to like pork, but this piece must have been awfully good to those that do. Especially to perros.

I checked my Fitbit. I had noted what it said after Puzzle’s walk this morning, so I subtracted that from the total. 9.25 miles. I translate that to 14.88 km. I ran over 1/3 marathon. Does that count? I hope so.

I am not going to ask “What did I do wrong now?” That question’s getting old. I think I must be doing something right. For a change.

IMG_20140517_150214_936

PS: Yeah, I know that’s not the footbridge. It’s Ruta 11 crossing over, not far from Tienda Inglesa. I tried but I can’t find the footbridge photo i have, so this’ll fool a few of you maybe.  I think the view is coming toward TI in the direction of Montevideo, on the south side, taken while walking on the auxiliary road last year.